About Us

The Northwest Regional Planning Commission (NWRPC) was created in 1959 by local units of government of Northwest Wisconsin. It is the oldest planning commission in Wisconsin and one of the first multi-county planning commissions in the nation. The Commission is a cooperative venture of Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, and Washburn Counties and the tribal nations of Bad River, Red Cliff, Lac du Flambeau, Lac Courte Oreilles, and St. Croix.

The History of Northwest Regional Planning Commission (PDF) - 50 Years (1959 through 2009) Northwest Regional Planning Commission - Pictures through the First 50 Years (PDF)

NWRPC provides a variety of community and regional services focusing on economic, community and business development, transportation, land use, coastal and environmental resources.

The region that NWRPC serves has a combined area of 10,927 square miles and a population of approximately 179,000. It consists of a mix of governmental units forming a complex matrix of overlapping and adjoining jurisdictional boundaries comprised of 10 counties, 230 units of local government (185 towns, 31 villages and 14 cities), 5 tribal units of government and one Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO).

Northwest Regional Planning Commission's Mission Statement

As an advocate for Northwest Wisconsin, NWRPC is a leader, a coordinator, and an advisor. This is accomplished through the implementation of our core functions of planning, community development, and economic development.

Why Choose NWRPC?

  • Over 60 years of experience in the Region
  • Proven track record
  • Well-qualified staff
  • Well connected to State and Federal agencies
  • Established relationship with State and Federal elected representatives
  • Familiar with State and Federal grants and programs
  • Recipient of numerous State and National awards
  • Serving both public and private sectors

Mailing Address:
Northwest Regional Planning Commission
1400 South River Street
Spooner, WI 54801
Email the Northwest Regional Planning Commission